martes, 26 de febrero de 2013

Haec Dies - William Byrd - Chamber Choir

Haec dies is a six-part Latin motet by the renaissance English composer William Byrd (1543-1623). It is included in his Cantiones sacrae of 1591. It is one of only four six-part works contained in this mostly five-part collection. This work is unique. It contains some most remarkable hemiola, both simultaneous and consecutive. This rhythmic device lends an air of intriguing rhythmic complexity to the work and adds depth to the joyous nature of the work. Particularly noteworthy are the dazzling Alleluias with which the piece ends, which are based on a passage in the bass. The jubilant style is very accessible to a modern audience, and it is an often-performed work. Check out this music channel too: This work seems to have been conceived with Cantate Domino, with which it shares many features. These similarities include a triple-meter middle section, similar length of their tripartite formal structure and similarly placed pauses. Both works are similarly jubilant in style and are contained in the Cantiones sacrae. English composer, born in London in 1542 or 1543; died 4 July, 1623. He was the son of a musician, and studied music principally under Thomas Tallis. He became organist at Lincoln Cathedral in 1563, chorister in the Chapel Royal in 1570, and in 1575 received the title of "Organist of the Chapel Royal" without being obliged to perform the functions of that office. Byrd was the most distinguished contrapuntist and the most prolific composer of his <b>...</b>
Views: 0
0 ratings
Time: 02:07 More in Music

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario